Jump to navigation
| Monday, December 29, 2003 | |
The anti-spam sites have long advocated for email recepients not to use the unsubscribe links in spam email. The key here is "spam" email. If you've legitimately provided your email address to an Ezine publisher or to some other site, then you should be able to use the links to get off their lists. I've generally supported the use of the unsubscribe links, mainly because of my support of Ezine publishers and how they've been abused in the past. However, this as changed as of today. My word of warning is to view these unsubscribe methods with a jaded eye. One of the most deceptive things I've seen to date hit me this morning. Want to know more?
I was attempting to unsubscribe to a system that I actually mistakening assumed was related to another site which I'd recently provide my email address to. I thought this to be a legitimate unsuscription site. The unsuscription URL I went to was http://click.4o-1.com/cgi-bin/remove/mp_remove.cgi (4-ui.com is also associated with this scam). When I entered my email address to unsubscribe I was taunted by an attempt to hijaack my computer with the installation of a Fun & Games toolbar (http://toolbar.pickoftheweb.com/potwbar.cab by Traffix Inc). The installation screen appeared immediately after I hit enter.
This is one of the sleaziest unsubscription system I've ever experienced. Unsubscription with a major penalty. Fortunately, security settings on my computer prohibited the installation of this program. Me thinks.... I'll scan my system just in case.
What I'm not sure of yet, is how this type of action would be viewed under the new CAN Spam Act. I was provided with an unsubscription method and who knows, maybe they will actually take my email address out of their system. But, is it legal to attempt to install a program (of questionable value) during the unsubscription process? It not email, but it is a new threat to our safety on the Net.
Here's the email I received:
//*** start ***//
Thank you for being part of our online community in which
we do our best to make the Internet exciting and beneficial by
introducing our members to great promotional offers, valuable
discounts, bargains and sweepstakes, as well as entertainment,
travel and financial opportunities Continuing our tradition of
providing you with the best the Internet has to offer, we would
like to introduce your new membership with Link Offers.
Link Offers
will bring you a variety of opportunities to take advantage of special
offers and some members-only special promotions.
You may choose to terminate your membership with Link Offers
and unsubscribe from its mailing list at any time. Each email offer
Link Offers sends will contain an unsubscribe link. If you do not
wish to become a member of Link Offers, simply click here.
To review the Link Offers privacy policy click here.
Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact us with
any questions you might have!
Sincerely,
Your friends at Transit Direct
Thank you for being a Transit Direct member. If you no
longer wish to be a member and receive our offers click here.
//*** end ***//
I mistakening thought I'd received this after I'd registered for a computer drawing at the TigerDirect.com website (I do not believe now that the 2 sites are related). It's easy to get sidetracked. In the future, I'll make sure I've had my dose of coffee before reading my email.
Posted on 12/29/03 at 10:15:11 by Jim Gray
Category: Scams
Comments
This great, This still does not address my problem. It started when I was looking for a tub heater for my whirlpool tub and the guy who put it in said to go to redhead heaters.com to find it. Obviously it wasn't the site I was looking for and ever since I have been getting strange mail for sex toys to which I don't want or need. Help!!!
Glad you got rid of it Robert. HiJackThis is a great program, but requires a lot of knowledge. Since it lists more than just the spyware and adware programs, it's possible for newbies to remove critical components of their system software. If you're using a program like this, then do what the other on ComputerCops have done. Post the HiJackThis log results and get some advice on what to let it remove.
hi its me robert again I found out how to get rid of the potwbar just go to this website http://www.computercops.biz... and learn for yourself the program is "hijackthis"
My computer at my job has the potwbar. The program has a backup file somewhere and a command line file.Thats why it comes back. I'll let you know how to get rid of it when I do. Stopsign sucks. The best stuff out there for your computer is - IO system mechanic not freeware - Ad Aware Freeware addition - Pop Up Stoper Freeware - Avg antivirus freeware - Skygate personal firewall freeware. I don't think you would ever have a problem after installing them. I hope that helps you guys. Don't give out you email use yahoo email!!!!
I started with a toolbar called Search the Web. Since I had not downloaded it I went to add and remove programs. After showing what looked like an uninstall, it said I had to restart my computer before it would be totaly gone. I had never had to do this before, but (I guess I'm stupid) I did it anyway. I had only had to restart when adding a program. My screen flickered several times then it came back on like an invalid shut down. I went to add and remove programs to see if it was gone, and it was. Now there is a Fun and Games toolbar. It took the place of the SearchWeb toolbar in Exployer. I can not get it off my system. If you use add and remove porgrams it justs pops back to the top of the list, but it is still there. Tonight I did some research about it and it seems it comes from pickoftheweb. You can not get to their website to ask how to remove it, but they probably wouldn't anyway.
But there is more. It has a password program. It lists several websites and says you need to tell it you E-mail address and password for the site. I'm not that stupid.
Does anyone know how to get it off my computer. I found this site doing an msn search for pickoftheweb. I though maybe you could help. It seem Jenna has the same problem. Now I am afraid of every website, because like her I don't know where it came from. I downloaded a program called StopSign to check for spyware, adware and viruses. Now I am told that they are spyware. I guess they just put the others out so they will be the only one. Worst part, if they are spyware, I paid for the download. Does anyone know anything about them? They are from eAnthology.
I keep getting the "pickoftheweb" toolbar popping up on my screen. I don't know how it got there, or how to get rid of it. Any suggestions?
Jim, if it wasn't for your articles on all of these scams and viruses I would get caught sure as the world turns. Thanks for all the "heads-up" information. Most of it I don't even understand, but I know a warning about a scam or a potential virus when I see one. Thanks again for your time and effort.
Thanx Jim one more thing to watch out for - this was one area I hadn't thought of for these scum artists to get me. I'm glad your there to help keep me informed of the games these guys play. If their tactics arn't illegal they should be, and are at the very least unethical as well as reprehensible.
Add Comments
|